Libi’s Most Excellent Portland Adventure, Day One

Today was the first day of my most excellent adventure. I got up late (I blame Bob), but thanks to my wonderful brother Jim (he took my spare and filled it up for me), I was able to get everything done and get out of the house. My room is even clean!

I was not really going to make any stops, just rest stops, along the way to Boise, but then I saw the signs for Golden Spike National Historic Site and couldn’t resist. I’ve lived in Utah for 34 years and have never been.

I got there just in time for the running of the trains.The following pictures may seem excessive, but I’m posting them for my nephew, Trent, who loves trains.Image

Image

ImageImageImageImage

 

They had actors for most the roles during the reenactment, but they also pulled volunteers from the crowd.

This lady was just lovely.

ImageImageImage

 

I left there and then did drive through. Going through Golden Spike added an hour to my drive, plus I was there for about 2 hours, but it was fun.

I finally had to stop at a rest stop in Idaho. My legs were tired. The VFW Post 3646 was there, serving coffee, iced tea and cookies. I got some iced tea and had a lovely chat with the couple that were manning the post that afternoon. What a lovely service to provide for weary travelers!

I had to stop and get gas in Mountain Home and then drove through to Boise. The hotel is clean. There’s free Wi-fi and a fridge in the room. And a nice comfy chair to curl up on. This will be my first night on the road alone. 

I can’t believe I’m doing this. I’ve wanted to take a vacation by myself for a while, but never knew I’d have to guts to do it. Well, here I am!

Day one over. I’m going to knit for a bit, then go to bed. I’m getting up early in the morning to get on the road early. There are a few places I want to stop on my way to Portland. 

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “Libi’s Most Excellent Portland Adventure, Day One

  1. Kat (QuilterKat)

    That is JUST FANTASTIC! I love all the pictures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

