Soon

I know, I know, that’s an LOLcatz meme, but I couldn’t resist. I say soon because I have one more month until I’m finished with school. Two more classes. They don’t sound hard, but then, I haven’t met the teacher, so I won’t know till I start them. But, I still have a 4.0 and I don’t expect that to change when I finish the class I’m in now. Not really difficult, just a lot of busy work. It’s Business Management and I’ve learned some interesting things.

What will I do once I graduate? Well, for one I’ll cry. It’s been a dream for 20 years now. In my life, dreams haven’t come true, but one already has. My daughter has chosen and married a wonderful young man who treats her like gold. I also dream of my son finding a mate who loves him and treats him and he treats well. I want my kids to have better than me.

Dream #3 was to get a degree. A goal when I started school was to graduate with honors, but if I continue, I’ll graduate with high honors, with a 4.0. I’m amazed with myself. I’m a middle-aged woman, how did I manage to become such a good student? I work hard, yes, but still. Just because I’m in a “for-profit” school doesn’t mean it’s easy. I know there are schools out there that are just diploma mills, but Stevens-Henager is not one of them. They’ve been around since 1891. Longer than most colleges and universities in this country. The teachers care that we learn our subjects, that we know what they are teaching us. It’s been a challenge. I’ve had a few teachers I couldn’t stand. I thought they were horrible teachers, but I still managed to pull something out of the class. I’ve also had teachers that I felt were absolutely fantastic. 

What’s my next dream? I don’t know. I really don’t. I need to think long and hard on what I want to do next with my life.

 

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “Soon

  1. Wow! I remember when you started the program, and now, you’re almost done, and you’re graduating with honors, too? You’ve done so well.

    Like

  2. Congratulations on graduating! It’s a wonderful thing to see a dream, find a way, and then make it happen. Who cares how old you are? You’d be the same age if you hadn’t gone to college. You made it yours by doing extremely well, too.

    Go you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

