What is Beautiful?

I was speaking to a friend last night when she made the comment that she “used” to be beautiful. I told her she still is, but I don’t think she was listening.

There are many definitions of beautiful. There’s the world definition, which seems to change with each new fashion season. Skinny lips this season, fat the next, long hair, short hair, bald. Curly, straight, wavy, big, small hair. Short skirts, long skirts, no skirts. I will admit, I drool over the “beautiful” actor right along with everyone else. But, that’s just looks. A nice fantasy, but I just don’t think I’d ever like to meet them and have it shattered.

Then there’s my definition, and honestly, to me, it’s the one that matters. So, I’m going to tell you about my friend and why I think she’s beautiful.

I’ve known S for about 8 years now. We’ve never met in person, but we talk weekly, sometimes daily. Much more than any IRL friend I have (or don’t have, as the case may be right now). She knows me pretty well. She knows I can be a bitch. She’s “seen” me extremely low (almost suicidal) and extremely high (oh my gosh, give that woman some valium!). Yet, in the 8 years I’ve known her, she has never judged me.

She and I have very differing views about many things. Yet, she doesn’t judge me on that either.

She doesn’t judge me at all, actually. She doesn’t try to cheer me up when I’m down, or depress me when I’m up. When I’m down, she’s just as likely to sit down in the mud with me, and wallow for a bit. (I firmly believe everyone needs a good wallow now and then, good for the soul!).

Now, to who she is. She is kind. She acts all gruff and bitchy at times, but S would give a friend the shirt off her back if they needed it.

She is absolutely incredible with children. She doesn’t ask them to change. She sees them for who they are, accepts them for where they are, and helps them want to make better the things they can and accept the things they can’t. She works with children doing an incredibly important job. The parents in her program should be thanking her, daily, for what she does.

She is a great mom. One only has to look at her kids, listen to them, see where they are, to see that.

She’s a talented writer. She can make me giggle, laugh out loud, cry and get angry. All with the written word and usually in the same blog post!

Can you see why I think she’s beautiful? I don’t see the outside. I see the inside. Who she is. S has a beautiful soul. And it shines through.

She belongs to a list of my other beautiful friends. Everyone is a stunner who can and often does take my breath away with their beauty. S and V in Florida, K in Nevada, S in Ohio, R in Texas, P in Connetticut.

You are beautiful, my friends.

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “What is Beautiful?

  1. S

    You made me cry.

    I was so not expecting this post.

    You know that you’re precious to me, too, right?
    I’m glad I know you.

    Like

  2. Raisya

    Awwww! Thank you! And ya’ll are all beautiful to me! You’ve listened to me through divorce and job problems and never judged; what more could a friend ask for!

    Like

Leave a Reply

