I have a job

So, I know I don’t blog much (thank you very much, Ami!), but I try to at least once a month.  I’d like to once a week, but lately, I meet myself coming and going.

I have a new job.  I love it.  I’m just a secretary.  I’m not going to cure cancer or write a book.  Just a secretary.  And I love it.  I don’t know why I like being a secretary.  I enjoy doing for others.  I always have.  Making someone’s life easier.  Keeping everyone organized.

Does this make me a freak?   Discuss….

7 Comments

Filed under General

7 responses to “I have a job

  1. Secretaries rule the world. Seriously.

    I am a glorified secretary. I have the power to send my boss anywhere, to meet anyone, and talk about any subject.

    If I need to get something done, I ask for the boss’s secretary. She can make it happen.

    Welcome to the club 🙂

    Like

  2. What Eryn said! A lot of the managers at my office believe the number one priority is “Make the Secretary(-ies) happy, and make IS happy”

    Like

  3. Yes, secretaries are the best! I am still in awe of the secretary who was the heart and soul of the Classics Department when I was an undergraduate. Anything you needed, she could pull in mere seconds. Without her, the professors never would have figured out their mail, schedules, really, anything at all. A competent secretary makes everyone’s life smooth and comfortable and a lot less stressful. You’re doing a very important job.

    Like

  4. ami

    That’s not what makes you a freak.
    It’s the homeschooling what done it.

    Like

  5. jane

    You are not JUST a secretary. You are a secretary, and I bet a darn good one, too!

    Like

  6. Just a secretary???? No such thing – I’m a long-time secretary, and I like the word, even though it’s not PC anymore – everyone’s gotta be an assistant or coordinator or some other made up word… I agree – where would our bosses, companies, the world be without us? Enjoy it, be good at it, and never, ever say “just” again!

    Like

  7. Hey, as long as you love your job, you’re never “just” anything. And secretaries work their heinies off. I’m trying to find a new job, and I’ve considered going the secretary route, but I honsetly don’t know if I’m cut out for it! Incidently, I really like your blog. Keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

